Silver Find

a

I found this silver set at a local charity shop and paid $4.50 for it.  The pieces were tarnished and all bundled into a plastic bag.  I assumed they were silverplate, occasionally I find decent silverplate for resale.  When I opened the bag I nearly fainted.  All the pieces are from the same set, French Provincial by Towle and they are all marked sterling.  The forks and spoons are solid, heavy silver.  The knives all have hollow sterling handles.  I estimated the weight of the silver conservatively at 25 oz, with a market value for the silver by weight of $490.  These are in the last day of an auction on eBay.  They are listed for $480 and I have several people watching the listing and have gotten lots of viewers.  If they don’t sell today, I will list them in my store for $520.  This set is actually worth at least $600 retail.  Some of the pieces have damage, dropping their retail value.  If they were in perfect order I’d expect to get $700 or more for them.

One of my best resale finds so far.

Leave a Reply

