Autumn Muffins

a3

I just invented a recipe for delicious, good-for-you muffins, feel free to use it, but if you share with others, please give me credit. I call these Autumn Muffins because I invented them in autumn and they are just right for a cool, sunny morning breakfast. This recipe will make 12 large muffins-3.5″ diameter, or 24 regular muffins. I don’t care for the taste of full bran muffins, which is what inspired me to create this recipe that incorporates bran in to a more traditional muffin base.

Autumn Muffins

1 cup Kelloggs All Bran cereal                                                                          a2
1 cup milk
4 eggs
1 cup oil
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup Splenda
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup white whole wheat flour
5 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup craisins (cranberry raisins)
3/4 cup golden raisins

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.  Place cereal in large mixing bowl.  Add milk, let sit for 5 minutes to soften.  Add beaten eggs and oil,  mix.  Add sugar and Splenda, mix.  Add flours, baking powder and salt.  Mix to blend, do not over work.  Fold in dried fruit.  Fill cups of oiled muffin tins 2/3 full of batter.  Bake 20-25 mins until done.

a1When I cook, I use light olive oil, the kind designed for baking. We use 1.5% fat milk. I like to substitute a little Splenda to cut the sugar calories, not enough so you can taste it. The eggs are farm fresh free-range, of course. I like white whole wheat flour for most baking because you get the bran without the heaviness. I use Salt-Sense low sodium salt, never notice any difference in taste. Our grocery store has an all-natural and organic section where I buy non-GMO flour.

Any fruit can be added to the batter, fresh, dried or frozen.  I also like to add sunflower seeds sometimes.

Leave a Reply

