Sawing Firewood

DSC00720

Here I am using an electric chainsaw to cut dry four foot lengths of firewood into stove length pieces.  Then I will divide them up on our hydraulic log splitter into halves or quarters so they burn well.  When I finish with this pile, we should have enough wood to go through the winter.

Usually my husband would be taking care of this chore, using his gas powered chainsaws.  But, he hurt his back three weeks ago and still is not able to do heavy work.  We need to get the firewood put up, so I’m happy to do the job.

This little electric saw is good practice for me.  I’ve asked Santa for my own gas chainsaw.  A new Stilh 170. It’s a small saw, nearly the lightest weight of the Stihl line.  It will be perfect for me since I have an injured left rotator cuff and a heavy saw hurts me.   I plan to prune the orchard into shape with my Christmas saw, then spread out over time to take care of all the little tree cutting chores that need to be done.  Things that have been waiting because I hate to take my husband away from cutting firewood to do my little tasks.

It’s hard to believe…yes, I’m excited about getting a chainsaw for Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Sawing Firewood

  1. What a woman! Is there anything you can’t do! I do hope you get your special chainsaw for Christmas. Maybe it will have pink handles! Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

