Salmon Falls Pottery Collection

a1

The first piece of Salmon Falls salt-glaze stoneware I ever saw was in the Berry Vine pattern, above.  I fell in love with the design.  Being a hopeless collector of pottery, it was inevitable my collection of Salmon Falls would grow.  Without really trying, my set has increased to eight pieces.  These show some of the variation that has occurred over the years of production.

Salmon Falls Stoneware is located on Oak St in Dover, NH.  The potter began his studios in the early 1980s, moving to the current location in 1986.  I have been to the pottery in the old railway engine house and it is amazing.  What started as one man’s dream has grown into a respected and well-loved producer of beautiful ware.  a6Salt-glaze is my favorite finish.  It is achieved by throwing salt in the hot kiln with the greenware.  The resulting glaze is shiny and hard with a characteristic bumpy texture.

a5

The decoration is handpainted so the design varies slightly with the artist. The minor variations in bisque color are due to differences in clay.  The more modern pieces have a better defined design that is less likely to bleed and the interior finish is a reddish-brown.  Older pieces have a yellow-green tint to the interior.a8  a4The maker’s mark has also changed, an older mark on my mug is shaped like the sun on the horizon.a10  The current mark is always stamped on the side of the piece.

 

 

 

The pottery lists several patterns.  I have settled on Berry Vine, though others such as Cranberry, Dragonfly and Wildflower catch my eye.  There is a range of forms for many uses including tableware, serving ware, baking and lighting.  I have a few from different categories including some discontinued forms.a2

My favorite is the dinner mug, if I owned more than one I’d use the mug.  Since there is only one, I keep it for display.  Always, I’m on the lookout for another mug.  a3I have two sizes of bowls, a small crock and a custard cup.  The cup was purchased at the pottery and sometimes I use it as a votive or to serve nuts.  The small casserole was a thrift-shop find and is missing the lid.a7  The creamer is an older piece marked with the artist’s inscribed initials and the pitcher is discontinued.  The pitcher is 8.5″ tall and the largest bowl, I believe it is 1.5 qt size, has a 6.5″ top diameter.a9

a11Recently I found, and just sold, a piece of the Dragonfly pattern.  Called a chowder cup, it measures 5 3/8″ across and holds 2 cups.  I was sorely temped to keep this piece, but common sense won.  There is just not enough room in my display cabinet for another Salmon Falls pattern.

Here is a link to the Salmon Falls website for a quick visit. http://salmonfalls.com/docs/catalog/index.html

To disable the website music, click the controller near the bottom of the page.

6 thoughts on “Salmon Falls Pottery Collection

  1. I have a blue strawberry with leaves and vine pattern from Salmon Falls that I can not seem to find other pieces. Small crock with a rectangular stamp, not the sun horizon one you mentioned. Dark brown interior. Do you know this pattern?

    • Hi, sorry, no idea about the pattern. Try the Salmon Falls site, they list all the current patterns. Maybe you can find the pattern on eBay if it is retired. Dawn

Leave a Reply

