Maple Sap Season

DSC03271

Today I tapped the maple trees.  Bright sun, mild breezes and a temperature around 44 F made the sap run strong and steady.  I hiked down to the woods through knee deep snow, hitting a few drifts that came up to my thighs.  It was so warm I didn’t need a coat!

DSC03257The drilling of the tap holes I do with an antique hand-operated bit and brace.  The hole is fitted with a metal spile, a spout to guide the sap from the tree into the bucket.  Once the trees are tapped, the maple orchard is filled with the sound of sap dripping into metal buckets.  I love collecting sap in this old-fashioned manner.  Makes me think of my ancestors, the hardy New Englanders who toiled in much the same manner.DSC03252

There are 23 taps, enough to make a gallon of maple syrup a day if the sap runs well.  One gallon of syrup requires about 40 gallons of sap.  Some days it doesn’t flow very well due to weather conditions.  High winds or a daytime temperature below 40 F can slow the sap.

This year’s season is late.  January, February and March were all colder than normal and very snow filled.  We had a couple days here and there in the past two weeks when sap would flow.  All the maple syrup producers in the state are complaining.  The season sometimes starts in early February.

DSC03263The next week to ten days will be our season.  After that, the temperatures will go too high.  Once it doesn’t freeze at night, the trees begin to bud.  The sap turns dark and bitter, signaling the end of the season.  In the next few days I hope to make three to four gallons of maple syrup.  We’ll see how it goes.

6 thoughts on “Maple Sap Season

    • Yes, it makes me feel like a forebear! Actually, a hand operated drill has several benefits for me over a battery powered one. The biggest is weight. The old bit and brace is very lightweight. A battery drill is heavy, the battery makes up a lot of the weight. Plus you have to carry a second battery for when the first one runs down. Second, the hand drill has more power when drilling into damp, living wood. A battery drill, even with a spare battery, might not last through all 23 taps. Third, I don’t have to worry about damaging my drill if I accidentally drop it in the wet snow (which I did, twice.) And fourth, the bit and brace require very little effort to operate. You have to push fairly hard with a battery drill to get the job done. So, pioneers had the right idea using a hand drill for tapping trees.

Leave a Reply

