Robinson Ransbottom Pottery

rrp1

Robinson Ransbottom Pottery of Roseville, OH was in business in one form or another from 1900 to 2005. The works were founded by four Ransbottom brothers, using local clay to produce utilitarian items such as crocks for preserving food, jugs, jars, planters and kitchenware like their beloved mixing bowls.

Around 1920 the Ransbottoms acquired Robinson Pottery and added the name to their company. R.R.P.Co, as their mark distinguishes them, dabbled in art pottery with some whimsical cookie jars and lovely handpainted vases and dishware.  I am drawn to the salt glaze and the thick, substantial feel of the wares.

The brown drip covered casserole above is currently offered in my eBay online store.  It was an amazing find as it appears unused.  There is no damage, looks like it came from the pottery yesterday.  The dish is quite large, measuring nearly 10″ across at the handles.  It carries the incised RRP mark, which I believe is older than the stamped marks.rrp3

rrp6rrp7My first encounter with RRP was many years ago when my husband began bringing mugs home from a local craft shop where he delivered for his job.  He was drawn to the rugged feel of the mug.  At that time RRP was fairly inexpensive to own.  We acquired several mugs, and some heavy dishes for the pets’ water.

rrp4

Cary demonstrating the use of his RRP water bowl.  We use the big ‘DOG’ bowl because it is heavy enough to support the weight of cats who like to stand on the rim to drink.

Sadly, over the years, most of the mugs were broken and a cat knocked the water bowl with ‘KITTY’ written on the side onto the floor, shattering it.  On one awful day as I washed dishes, I manage to break the handles on two mugs.  Think I might have cried a little over that.rrp5

This pattern with the two blue stripes is called Williamsburg, sometimes Williamsburg 303 or Williamsburg III and Williamsburg Pioneer.  It is my favorite and also very popular with collectors.  The style is clean, simple and attractive.

With the closing of the pottery in 2005, the price of RRP pieces has slowly climbed.  Today it would be an expensive proposition were I to try to replace those mugs I broke.  With a little luck, I sometimes find a stray RRP item in a thrift store, such as the one pint pitcher and the ten ounce crock above.

I always keep a lookout for the RRP mark when I browse thrift stores and yard sales.  Never know when I might strike it rich!

 

5 thoughts on “Robinson Ransbottom Pottery

  1. It’s funny that you see a treasure trove when you look at those shelves and I just see a bunch of clutter. You have learned so much about all the different makers and types of pottery!

  2. I am also amazed at your expertise. You are getting very knowledgeable in finding good pieces of pottery and china in thrift shops. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

