Way to His Heart Meatloaf

m1

When I want to make my husband happy with one of his favorite meals, I cook up my special meatloaf.  It always warms his heart.  I have a secret to keep the meatloaf juicy and tender:  beef bouillon.

My Meatloaf

2 lbs lean ground beef, I use grass-fed ground round

1 egg

1/4 cup ketchup

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1 cup warm water

1 cube beef bouillon

2 drops liquid smoke, optional

Put the bouillon cube in the warm water to dissolve.

Place beef, egg, ketchup, spices and onion powder in a mixing bowl.  Add a couple drops of liquid smoke for a barbecued flavor, if desired.  Mix together with nice clean hands until all the ingredients are well blended.  Pat the meat into a greased loaf pan.  Pour the bouillon over the meat.m2m3

Bake for 1.25 hours at 350F.  Drain off the liquid and thicken with flour to make gravy.  Serves four.   Meatloaf also is great in leftover sandwiches.m4

7 thoughts on “Way to His Heart Meatloaf

  1. Yummmmm I love meatloaf! This is one of those dishes that I love and Caleb doesn’t like at all. I sometimes make it for lunch and eat it up over several days when I get a hankering for it.

  2. I LOVE meatloaf! I typically use Lipton dry onion soup mix, egg and breadcrumbs and have also used the dry Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix. Both delicious. I will have to try this recipe now too! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Me too! I have to make something my husband will eat. He’s not big on onion flavor or ranch dressing, unfortunately. He also doesn’t like breadcrumbs in the meat. My only complaint was that meatloaf is often dry so I solved that with bouillon and we have a dish both of us like. You can use most any flavor variation on meatloaf and it works, very versatile.

Leave a Reply

