Return to the Garden

g1.jpg

It’s been a couple weeks. let’s check in at the vegetable garden.  I have been busily weeding, training vines, picking bugs, thinning rows and hoeing up the dirt around the bases of plants.  The weather has been quite warm with many days in the mid-eighties to nineties F.  Scattered thunder showers have provided adequate water.  Everything in the garden is growing with abandon.g2

Miniature pumpkin vines in the foreground and field pumpkins in the back.  Little fruit are already setting.

g3

This humid, hot weather is corn’s favorite growing condition.  If you watch carefully, you can see the indian corn get taller!

g4

A sunflower, winter acorn squash, red sweet peppers, beets and a row of carrots along the fence.  I have harvested loads of beet greens, eaten much and given more away to friends and relatives.  I even made some pickled beets!

The peppers are very happy this year.  Last year they mostly failed.  This time I planted them closer together, about 8″ apart.  They are in the shade of the corn for much of the morning and have the beets nearby for humidity.  Peppers like moisture and partial shade.  Several plants have good-sized fruit.  I may eat one now and not wait for it to turn red!

g7

The bush wax beans are in full bloom.  I expect to find beans waiting to be picked any day.

g9

The first tomato, right on schedule.  Think I’ll pick it for my salad today, before some slug or mouse can chew a hole in it.

g10

Lettuce, anyone?  This is head lettuce.  I let it grow close together and thin as I need lettuce until just a few large plants are left to make heads.

g8

Bachelor buttons, marigolds and zinnias to brighten the garden and provide cut flowers.  The Japanese beetles were devouring the zinnias.  Finally I dusted them with insecticide and the plants have started to bloom.  No bugs bother the marigolds, they have natural insecticides to keep pests away.

g11.jpg

3 thoughts on “Return to the Garden

  1. What a beautiful garden! It is picture perfect. I cooked the beet greens for L yesterday and put butter and salt and she had one bite and wouldn’t eat any more. I have no idea how I’m doing them differently than you do them! I put all the rest in the freezer to use in smoothies.

  2. Hmmm, maybe it’s the farm air? I chop them up and make sure they all have butter and salt. They should taste the same at your house. She even drank the beet juice out of the bowl!!

Leave a Reply

