Archive | August 22, 2020

Bean Season

Here are the last of the fresh beans for this year.  We had them for dinner tonight.  Summer is coming to an end when bean season is finished.  I love wax string beans, their yellow goodness is mellow and buttery.  It is hard to find organic canned wax beans in the grocery store so every year I grow and can as many as possible to enjoy over the winter months.

Last year was a good bean year, I still have five pints left over.  In the past month I added twenty-two more pints.  I feel like a squirrel, storing food away for winter.  The little rodent must feel the same sort of contentment as I do looking at a full larder.  It will be a long winter, but the summery goodness of wax beans can be enjoyed on the most icy night in February.  When I eat them I remember the hours I spent in the garden planting, weeding and picking through heat and biting insects and threatening thunder storms.  A little bit of summer on my fork.